Who Knew Bread Could be Easy?

This morning I had something different for breakfast.  It was Bob’s Red Mill Oat Bran.  I cooked up a pot, adding in a banana for a creamier texture.  I served it with a spoon of pb and some granola.  Also a cup of coffee with rice milk/agave.  It’s sorta like oatmeal.

Picture 037

For lunch I had packed a bowl of maple syrup baked beans from a can, and an apple.  After work I went over to my parents, so me and mom could make some bread.  It was super simple…you just toss all the ingredients in the breadmaker, and it does all the work.  While it was cooking, I took my dog Axl for a walk.  We actually used our own recipe we made up.  We knew it would turn out kinda funny looking, because of using Spelt flour.  Here’s what we added:

Organic Molasses Spelt Bread

1.25 Cups Water
Tbsp Unsulfered Fancy Molasses
2 Tbsp Ground Flax
2 Tbsp Canola Oil
Tbsp Organic Honey (or could have used Agave instead)
1 Tsp Salt
1.25 Tsp Bread Machine Yeast
3.25 Cups Organic Spelt Flour

Different top, but tasted delicious.

Picture 038

Picture 039

I had a tub of squash soup thawing, so when I got home I reheated it, and served it drizzled with olive oil and ground pepper, and a slice of my bread with Earth Balance.  Such a good supper for a cold day, and I went back for seconds of course haha.

Picture 040

After dinner I decided to bake cookies.  Yay!  Here is what I concocted:

Sam’s Random Cookies

1/8 Cup Shredded Coconut
1 Cup Spelt Flour
1 Tsp Baking Powder
1/4 Tsp Baking Soda
1/4 Cup Organic Evaporated Cane Juice
1/3 Cup Non-Dairy Chocolate Chips
1/2 Cup Organic Roasted Peanuts
1/4 Cup Maple Syrup
2 Tbsp Natural PB
2 Tsp Vanilla Extract
1/4 Cup Unsweetened Applesauce
Organic Powdered Sugar
1/4 Tsp Cinnamon & Dash Salt

Preheat oven to 350 Degrees.  Throw everything in a bowl (except choc. chips, peanuts and coconut) and mix.  Then fold in chocolate chips, peanuts and coconut.  Drop into 8 large spoonfuls on a greased pan or parchment paper-covered pan, sprinkle with powdered sugar, and bake for 12 minutes if you want soft cookies, about 14-ish minutes for a crispier cookie ( I guess depending on your oven).

Picture 041

They turned out pretty decent actually, and moist for having no oil.  I had two of these with a glass of Organic Vanilla Basmati Rice Milk.  Good stuff.  My eyes are tired….. I might go read for a bit.  Night.

Picture 043

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Who Knew Bread Could be Easy?

  1. vanilla basmati rice milk? that sounds amazing! and even better with homemade cookies 🙂

    your bread looks great, i have always wanted to try making homemade bread.

  2. GREAT loaf, breakfast, cookies… yum!!

Leave a Reply

